OSA’s Charter Members

John N. Howard

A look at the lives of some of OSA’s founding fathers.


OPN coversA group photo from OSA’s 1921 annual meeting.

In late December 1916, 30 optical scientists met in a classroom at Columbia University and voted to form the Optical Society of America. These “charter members” are listed alphabetically in the first OSA directory, which was published in 1917. Adelbert Ames, Jr., leads the list as member #1. In later years, members were given numbers in sequence of joining. Here are brief biographical sketches for a few charter members.

Log in or become a member to view the full text of this article.

This article may be available for purchase via the search at Optica Publishing Group.
Optica Members get the full text of Optics & Photonics News, plus a variety of other member benefits.

Publish Date: 01 September 2009

Add a Comment