News from the Society

Molly Moser

QE Prize for Engineering / Honors to Ferguson and Zheludev / OSA Fellow stories / Capasso receives 2021 Ives Award / WeAreOSA / U.S. science policy / Ippen is OSA Honorary Member / Bennet becomes Applied Optics EiC / Deutsch Fellow / Remembering Kapany and Harris / Thanks, editors and volunteers

Five men[QE Prize Foundation/National Academy of Engineering]

The 2021 Queen Elizabeth Prize for Engineering has gone to five pioneers in the creation of LED lighting, the foundation of “all solid-state lighting technology” and a cornerstone of modern green energy. Congratulations to the winners: OSA Honorary Member Nick Holonyak Jr., M. George Craford, OSA Fellow Russell Dupuis, and 2014 Nobel Physics laureates Isama Akasaki and Shuji Nakamura.

Log in or become a member to view the full text of this article.

This article may be available for purchase via the search at Optica Publishing Group.
Optica Members get the full text of Optics & Photonics News, plus a variety of other member benefits.

Add a Comment