OSA Today

Susannah Lehman


This year’s Julius Springer Prize for Applied Physics was awarded to OSA Fellow Tony Heinz, chair of OSA’s Board of Editors, and Phaedon Avouris for their pioneering work on the electrical and optical properties of nanoscale carbon materials, including carbon nanotubes—from basic science to exciting applications. The award, accompanied by $5,000, was presented at the Julius Springer Forum on Applied Physics at Harvard University in Cambridge, Mass., U.S.A., on September 27, 2008.

Log in or become a member to view the full text of this article.

This article may be available for purchase via the search at Optica Publishing Group.
Optica Members get the full text of Optics & Photonics News, plus a variety of other member benefits.

Add a Comment