John N. Howard

In 1973, OSA president-elect Dow Smith wrote to several previous OSA presidents and medalists, asking them to recount memories from OSA meetings. This article captures the responses of past presidents George Harrison (1945-1946) and Stanley Ballard (1963), and the 1973 C.E.K. Mees medalist Erik Ingelstam.

Log in or become a member to view the full text of this article.

This article may be available for purchase via the search at Optica Publishing Group.
Optica Members get the full text of Optics & Photonics News, plus a variety of other member benefits.

Add a Comment